ABOUT US

NJCRI distinguishes itself by its 30 year history of providing HIV/AIDS care and treatment to individuals in Northern New Jersey. We are a strong integrated team between all our departments and our full service model, makes NJCRI unique and a welcome oasis for our community.   We will continue to adapt and support our clients with essential and innovative services.

 The North Jersey Community Research Initiative (NJCRI) is one of New Jersey’s largest and most comprehensive HIV/AIDS community-based organization.

Our mission is to "empower our clients by reducing social and health disparities in the greater Newark area.”

 

Over the past 30 years of service NJCRI has adapted and changed to rally the fight against HIV/AIDS, as well as providing important social services to our community. In 1988, the initial focus was to provide clinical trials in Newark so those that were infected with the HIV virus could gain access to promising investigational treatments. At that time patients were required to travel to New York to receive these services. NJCRI was the first AIDS service organization in New Jersey to provide medical care to those with HIV.  Our staff have published more than 30 research articles and have presented their research findings at local, national and international AIDS conferences. 
 

Today with over 40 different grant-funded programs, NJCRI continues to be on the cutting edge of HIV treatment. We understand that HIV is much larger than just a medical issue, and take pride in providing those in the midst of health disparities with the opportunity to improve their quality of life.  We have taken a holistic approach by streamlining all our services and creating a one-stop resource center for our clients. Named after an esteemed and respected former colleague, the Dr. George Perez Medical Care Center provides care and treatment to both HIV negative and HIV positive patients alike. 

Additional services we offer include behavioral research, transgender medical care, pediatrics, primary medical care, chronic illness management education, street outreach, substance abuse treatment, transportation, mental health/psychiatric services, food pantry, syringe exchange, an adult drop-in center for the homeless , and many LGBTQ services including a drop-in center for LGBTQ youth. We are also strong community advocates and provide technical assistance to other community-based organizations in our area. Approximately over  10,000 people avail themselves of our free and confidential services each year

 
 

OUR SERVICES

 
 

Years of Experience

Clients served yearly

 on average 

Grant funded programs

Dedicated Staff

 

OUR DIRECTORS

Brian McGovern

Chief Executive Officer

Awilda Rivera

Director of Operations

Corey DeStefano

Clinical Director

Joseph Rothenberg

Chief Financial Officer

Julio Roman

Director of Community and LGBTQ services

Henry Iwuala

Director of

Behavioral Health

Ronald Poblete, M.D. 
Medical Director
 

PAY IT FORWARD!

THE GUIDING FORCE BEHIND OUR MISSION ... OUR CLIENTS!

When you make a gift, you reaffirm your belief in our mission of service and demonstrate your concern for and willingness to help your community.

NJCRI is a 501(c) 3 charitable institution (EIN: 52-1592616). Your contribution is tax deductible to the fullest extent of the law.

 

 

 

Check donations can be made out to : NJCRI 

Mailing address:

NJCRI 

Attn: Joseph Rothenberg

393 Central Ave

Newark, NJ 07103

 

Your unrestricted donation to NJCRI can help us raise awareness and provide essential treatment and support for those whose lives have been touched by HIV/AIDS, those who are battling addiction, the homeless, for those in need of emotional support, and for our LGBTQ community at large.

 

 

CONTACT US

*EXTREME WEATHER CLOSURE INFORMATION: (973) 483-3444

393 Central Ave

Newark NJ, 07103

info@njcri.org      Tel: 973-483-3444

Our Address

Counseling, Testing, and Referral

Health Screening Department:
Toll free – (888) 688-9097

(973) 483-3444 x 215 / Moseale Coker
Fax – (973) 412-8500

 

HIV Care and Treatment Services:
(973) 483-3444 x 247 / Brittney Robinson & Davina Vega

b.robinson@njcri.org or d.vega@njcri.org

Medical Case Management:

(973) 483-3444 X 208 / Vieshia Morales
v.morales@njcri.org

 

Nursing Services:

Erika Escabi, RN x 203 e.esabi@njcri.org
Eileen Scarinci, DNP, x 250 e.scarinci@njcri.org

Mental Health:
(973) 483-3444 x 207 / Sidsel Venger

s.venger@njcri.org

(973) 483-3444 x 238 / Mary Pillarella

m.pillarella@njcri.org 
F: (973) 849-0117

 

Substance Abuse:

(973) 483-3444 x 237 / Dorinda Coleman

d.coleman@njcri.org

Crossroads/ Project Access:
(973) 483-3444 x 204 / Ricardo Rodney

r.rodney@njcri.org

 

Food pantry:
(973) 483-3444 x 220 / Ron Berry

r.berry@njcri.org
 

HOURS

Mon:        8AM - 6PM

Tue - Fri:  8AM - 8PM

Sat:           12PM -8PM

LGBTQ Services:
(888) 688-9078

(973) 483-3444 x 217 / Julio Roman
j.roman@njcri.org

PrEP:

(973) 483-3444 x 251 / Ivan Wilson

i.wilson@njcri.org

Project RENEW:
 (973) 483-3444 X 222 / Henry Iwuala 

h.iwuala@njcri.org
Fax – (973) 648-0312

 

Clinical Trials:

(973) 483-3444 x 209 / Juan Torres
j.torres@njcri.org

(973) 483-3444 x205 / Corey DeStefano

c.destefano@njcri.org

 

NJ REACT:
(888) 657-3228

(973) 483-3444 x 239 / Shariff Hall

s.hall@njcri.org
Fax – (973) 485-7080

Medical Monitoring Project:

Shena Dance / s.dance@njcri.org 

973-483-3444 x239 

Oskar Gonzalez / o.gonzalez@njcri.org 

973-483-3444 x 223 
Fax 973-485-7080

 

CONTACT US

NJCRI is about Community focused care.  Please contact us with any questions regarding medical services and treatments, or If you would like to learn more about a specific program and how you can get involved!

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon

393 Central Avenue Newark, NJ 07103

(973) 483-3444

© 2019  NJCRI, Newark NJ.